What is the Liverpool City Devolution (LCR)?

  • Liverpool City Region Combined Authorty was formed April 2014
  • LCR devolution agreement was agreed 17th November 2015
  • Part of the deal was also to have a directly elected Mayor for Liverpool City Region  from May 2017 (agreed by each of the constituent local authorities on 19th November 2015)
  • Deal was opposed by the regions Green Councillors and campaigners due to its imposed, top down nature and lack of open democractic process

CLICK HERE TO VIEW - Unsigned Devoution Deal

click here to view - LCR Combined Authority Webpage


  • Cities and Local Government Devolution Act has been passed, enabling an existing Combined Authority to be changed into a Mayoral Combined Authority through a further Order by the Secretary of State.
  • Governance Review - required to establish that the additional powers and governance changes proposed for the LCR Combined Authority and Mayor - would be likely to improve exercise of statutory functions in LCR, and lead to an improvement in economic conditions
  • Requirement of the Act is to consult with the public where additional functions are to be conferred upon the Combined Authority
  • Consultation ran until 5th August 2016
  • Responses have been reviewed by the Liverpool City Region Combined Authority
    •Range of powers being conferred under the functions of
    1. Employment and skills,
    2. Housing and planning (strategic),
    3. Transport and highways (strategic),
    4. Business growth,
    5. Energy and environment,
    6. Culture, finance,
    7. European funding,
    8. Information sharing

    The Liverpool City Region Combined Authority (LCRCA) is the combined authority of the Liverpool City Region, an area that covers the metropolitan county of Merseyside and the adjacent Borough of Halton in North West England. It was established on 1 April 2014 by statutory instrument under the provisions of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009. Membership of the combined authority is made up of the leaders of the six principal membership authorities and the local enterprise partnership.

    The LCRCA is a strategic authority with powers over transport, economic development and regeneration. Transport policy of the combined authority is delivered by the Merseytravel functional body.

    The statutory name of the combined authority is the Halton, Knowsley, Liverpool, St Helens, Sefton and Wirral Combined Authority and at the inaugural meeting on 1 April 2014 the name Liverpool City Region Combined Authority was adopted. The current chair of the authority is Joe Anderson, the Mayor of Liverpool.

Sign up for updates

Find out more